U.S. Tax Forms for German developer

Hello!

I am an individual developer from Germany and I have some troubles filling out the "U.S. Tax Forms" document in iTunes Connect. I am on the page whose headling is "Manage Your Tax Information" and these are the points I am not sure what to do:

5. U.S. taxpayer identification number, if required

I do not have a US taxpayer ID. Can I just leave this field empty?

6. Foreign tax identifying number, if any

I have a german tax Id (Steuer-ID). Do I have to put this german tax Id into this field? Or do they mean something different?

7. Reference Number(s)

What is this reference number?

Part II: Claim of Tax Treaty Benefits: (If Applicable)

9. I certify that the beneficial owner is a resident of Germany within the meaning of the income tax treaty between United States and that country.

Do I HAVE to check this box as developer from Germany? Does this mean I automatically get a reduced tax if I check this box?

10. Special rates and Conditions

Do I fill out any the boxes here?

Sorry for all the questions, but I do not want to make any mistake. Thanks for any help!

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of compyler Down vote post of compyler
4.3k views

Replies

i have exactly the same questions.

dear apple, could you please provide the necessary information!

I have the same question (a developer from Czechia, EU). Thank you
I'm from Czech republic, EU citizen, myself and from what I've studied:

Part I, points 5, 6, 7

Is for US citizens. I don't have to fill it. I have Czech VAT and Tax ID, but I believe these are for US citizens who would live abroad, pay taxes elsewhere and then would need to reconcile it.

Part II.

Point 9 - check if you are. I believe this should avoid having any taxes being withhold from US sales? And plus this is just a confirmation of what residence/tax domicile we are.
Point 10, nothing. There are no special rates and conditions in my case.