SimpleAudioDriver sample, cannot install dext

Hi,

I'm a little newbie on MacOS but did audio development for many years on other systems. Now I started some development on MacOS and tried to get this SimpleAudioDriver sample running. Compilation works fine and when I try to install the dext I'm prompted for my credentials. Afterwards "systemextensionsctl list" shows the dext as enabled and active but the SimpleAudio device is not shown in the "Audio MIDI Setup" and the SimpleAudioDriverApp says the extension is not running.

I already tried various things from "csrutil disable" to "systemextensionsctl developer on" to "sudo nvram boot-args=-arm64e_preview_abi"

My console log shows error entries like this:

Error occurred while handling request "DextLaunch(arguments: Optional(["Check In Token": 18447, "Driver Extension Server Tag": 4294973749, "CFBundleIdentifier": de.bebetterorganized.dev.SimpleAudio.Driver, "DriverKit Reslide Shared Cache": 0, "Driver Extension Server Name": de.bebetterorganized.dev.SimpleAudio.Driver, "kOSBundleDextUniqueIdentifier": <3eb592b5 11e19191 027e272f 7fc6f5cc f24eaa62 367de83c 2fc697b5 4db10ed7>]))": Error Domain=NSPOSIXErrorDomain Code=8 "Exec format error"

Now I'm not sure whether my extension is not loaded at all or whether it's just not detected as audio device and not connectable for any reason.

I'm trying all these things on a MacBook Air with Apple M2 CPU, MacOS 13.2.1 and XCode Version 14.2 (14C18), MacOS

Any hint would be appreciated, thanks a lot, Johannes

Replies

Thanks for the link. I've already been there and requested entitlements two times but never received an answer. Nevertheless I can see my requests in my account->identifiers and also XCode found the profiles and could apply them without error to my project. XCode also shows the appropriate entitlements. In addition I think those entitlements should not be needed if you run your Mac with SIP disabled.