What is the point of the Unified Logging System and the new `Logger` API if it's so inflexible and clumsy?

Hi there!

Sorry in advance, this is going to be a long post of Apple developer pains which I want to share with you, and, hopefully, find the answer and help Apple become better.

I'm at the very beginning of my new and exciting personal project which (I hope) may one day feed me and be my daily source of inspiration. I'm not a newbie in Apple development nor am I a senior-level developer — just a fellow developa'.

Here's the problem I bring to you — why Apple promotes Unified Logging System and recommends using it as the primary way to implement logging in 3rd-party apps? No doubt, OSLog is a great, secure, efficient, and centralized way to gather diagnostics information, and I, starting my new project, am itching to choose exactly this 1st-party logging infrastructure. This decision in theory has a number of benefits:

1. I don't have to depend on 3rd-party logging frameworks which may eventually be discontinued;
  2. I have extensive documentation, great WWDC sessions explaining how to use the framework, and stackoverflow answers from the whole Apple dev community in case I experience any troubles;
  3. I have this cool Console.app and upcoming Xcode 15 tools with great visualization and filtering of my logs;
  4. It's quite a robust and stable infrastructure which I may restfully rely on.

But... the thing is there's this big elephant in the room — this API is non-customizable, inconvenient, and hard to use in terms of the app architecture. I can't write my own protocol wrapper around it to abstract my domain logic from implementation details or just simplify the usage at the call site. I can't configure my own format for log messages (this is debatable, since Console.app doesn't provide "***** strings" as Xcode 14 and earlier, but still). And what's most important — I can't conveniently retrieve the logs!