Question about coding style guide at Apple with continue and break keywords

Hi there!

I recently got into a discussion with my Java professor. In her style guide she specifically mentions to never use the break or continue keywords in loops as they are, according to her, outdated and unviable. I have tried to prove by counter example when they are more useful than alternatives, without success.

This has gotten me wondering if these keywords are actually outdated, I am still a student after all. So I wanted to know from someone at Apple if using break or continue is forbidden, discouraged or fine to use (specifically in java but general guidelines are also fine) and why?

Any answer from a current or former Apple employee would help me greatly to have an insight into how the industry handles these keywords and I thank you in advance for your response.

If there is a better place to ask this please direct me towards that.

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of ErikLippert Down vote post of ErikLippert

Replies

I've no idea what Apple do. There are various corporate style guides that are available online, including Google's.

The important thing is to understand why these things might be discouraged. If you're smart, you should imagine future-you writing a style guide for your subordinates, not blindly following one written by someone else. (If you're not smart, stop asking questions and just do what you're told!)

• Thanks for your answer. I know style guides are available online, the lack of one for apple has brought me here. I checked google's style guide which did not mention these keywords. And yes, this entire post asking why these things might be discouraged because I have not gotten a to me valid answer from my professor except for that it is not necessary to use them (which doesn't explain why it is not allowed).

Add a Comment