How do I transition from a paid membership to a free one?

Hey all! This is my first time posting to the forums, so feel free to redirect me if you need. My question is pretty simple (I hope)!

I previously had a paid developer account and I have since let that account expire. As I don't intend to distribute apps, only to develop them for personal learning purposes and only ever running them on my own devices, I think that all I need is a free account.

I had assumed that my paid account would be downgraded to a free account once it expired, but that doesn't seem to be the case. I can no longer run my in-development apps on my own device, and my membership center account page only offers to renew my paid account, not transition it to a free one.

In short: My paid developer account expired, and now I want to transition to a free account, but I don't know how. Help!

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of nicholaswood Down vote post of nicholaswood
1.9k views

Replies

This is the error I get in Xcode when attempting to run my app on a device: "Code Sign error: No matching provisioning profiles found: None of the valid provisioning profiles include the devices: Oracle".

Oracle is my phone's name. I'm guessing that I need to add this to my developer profile, but... how?

No idea if there is a way to transition, but...if you create a 'free provisioning' account, you may want to use a new/unique Apple ID.

Free provisioning/testing on your device:

• From within Xcode 7.x (Mac only), navigate to “Xcode—->Preferences—->Accounts.” Hit the '+' icon below left to add your Apple ID. After you add your account, it will show within the main account window on the right.

• Select your account, hit the “View Details” button and wait for them to load.

• Now create the 'signing identity' used to create a provisioning profile used for device testing - Hit the “Create” button next to the 'iOS development' label. When completed, hit ‘Done’.