Where to get 5.5 inch iPhone screenshots for submission

Hello, I'm new to iOS development and I'm trying to take some screenshots of my app to submit to the App Store. I'm running Ventura 13.0.1 and XCode 14.1. So far I've used these simulators to take screenshots:

• 6.5 inch - iPhone 11 Pro Max
  • 6.7 inch - iPhone 14 Pro Max
  • 12.9 inch - iPad Pro 6th gen

What I'm stuck on is getting the 5.5 inch screenshots, which are required for App Store submission. As far as I can tell from some online searching, the latest iPhone with that screen size was the 8 Plus. I've installed the oldest iOS simulator that XCode has listed (iOS 13.7), but it still won't let me run a simulator for the iPhone 8 Plus to get those screenshots. I don't have the physical device to take screenshots on. Does anyone know how to get the 5.5 inch screenshots without having to manually resize them?

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of kollinmurphy Down vote post of kollinmurphy
48k views

Replies

Mandatory screen sizes are :

• 6.5", for instance iPhone 11 Pro Max
  • 5.5", for instance iPhone 8 plus
  • 12.9", iPad 5G or 6G
  • 12.9", iPad 2G

All those simulators are available in Xcode 14, or can be added. I copy a screen shot showing all simulators in Xcode 14, and more may be added:

• I was only looking in the dock. From inside Xcode I see the option to add new simulators. Thank you!

• This is only helpful if you are not targeting iOS 17. If you are targeting iOS 17, you are stuck -- as the iOS 17 runtime is not available for any of the 5.5" devices (iPhone 6 Plus, iPhone 6S Plus, iPhone 7 Plus, iPhone 8 Plus).

• Donavan Do you have solution for this? I update macOS 14 and Xcode 15 then iOS 17 is default

In Xcode, click the "Window" menu, then "Devices & Simulators". In the "Simulators" tab, click the plus sign at the bottom left. You can pick "iPhone 8 Plus" from the list.