Manage European Union digital services act compliance information

On App Store there is the new request to declared if I am a trader operator or not under the new EU law.

As many I'm a single developer so the declaration can be reduced to "any natural person [...] who is acting [...] for purposes relating to his or her trade, business, craft or profession.", to learn more Apple links to EU commission.

I'm not 100% sure if, a single developer whit very small business and which use only Apple Store to distribute its apps, can declared "This is the account of a supplier who is not a trader".

Is someone more legal expert than me able to replay?

Accepted Reply

Looks like that for the companies, address and phone will be published. For my company, Apple already shows address, DUNS and phone/email in the Provider section in the AppStore.

They called me from the Czech Telecommunication office as told that it is up to a online platform to publish it online or not.

I don't know if this will be published for the individual account as well, my individual DSA information is still under review as they required to scan and attach business/court documents. If they publish that in the App Store, you are welcome to visit me!

Replies

I'm a small entrepreneur from the Czech Republic and I also don't know if I'm a trader or not. I'm inclined to think that I'm a trader, per definition of DSA, but I'm not sure that my private address should be published in the App Store, available to everyone.

We had a story with the digital postal mail boxes here where they started to publish every digital mail box owner address, but they had a privacy related pushback. Now you can select if you want or don't want to have your address published online if you have a digital mail box.

I called to our National office of telecommunication that is established as a National Digital Services Act coordinator for Czechia and they promised to be back to me tomorrow with explanations/statement.