Connect DSA trader question

Today the Connect page asks me to confirm if I am a trader or not under DSA.

I am an independent developer and have several apps in App Store. I have no idea what a trader is.

The DSA defines a trader as “any natural person, or any legal person irrespective of whether privately or publicly owned, who is acting, including through any person acting in his or her name or on his or her behalf, for purposes relating to his or her trade, business, craft or profession.” If you have questions about your status as a trader, consult with your legal advisor.

I emailed Connect support but their reply is very "official" which confuses me more.

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of imneo Down vote post of imneo
5.8k views

Replies

Haha I am under the same dilemma. Please let me know what option you decided to tick. I am also an independent developer.

I have no idea what a trader is.

But you’ve just quoted the relevant definition of a trader!

any natural person … who is acting … for purposes relating to his or her trade, business, craft or profession.

I am an independent developer and have several apps in App Store.

Is that your “trade, business, craft or profession”? If not, maybe it’s just a hobby? Or maybe you’re a volunteer for a charity?

• Ah, English is not my native language. And any legal documentation is cryptic to me, I can never understand them, even if they are written in my native language.

• This definition is unclear to me because I don’t know the definition of “trade, business, craft, or profession.”. This is a hobby to me. Is my hobby my “craft” or “trade”? Does it matter if I have paid apps or IAP vs only free apps? Does it matter if I make a profit vs a net loss considering the annual developer fee?

Add a Comment

English is not my native language.

You can read it in 24 different languages:

https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX%3A32022R2065